Lets make

Pattern Brief: bearing in mind the time to complete the brief  I’ve decided to focus on 1 product per pattern range. I have split the designs up by the design process;

honesty – ink drawing = screenprinted fabric,

I scanned in a hand-drawn sketch and edited in Ai to produce a repeat pattern square swatch that seemed to work well for fabric. I kept this a single colour to keep the design and printing simple, but also felt the design was strong enough and multiple colours might detract from the simplicity and fluidity of the hand drawn image. I then produced a screen and printed some fabric (link).

 

cupcake collages = giftwrap, 

Thanks to spoon flower. From acrylic paint I cutout and collaged illustrations, around a teatime theme. I selected 2 cupcake illustrations as the strongest and generated a random repeat pattern using a square swatch technique in illustrator, editing the colours to work together slightly. I uploaded this to spoon flower and they produced the digitally printed roll of gift wrap. I used this to wrap boxes and took and edited some product shots using a dSLR and Photoshop.

 

waves – linoprint = paper print – I have applied this to a book covers and endpapers.

I’m a big fan of linoprint and really wanted to see about linoprinting onto fabric but also using the lino as a start for digital editing and pattern design.

I quickly found out the at linoprinting directly onto fabric was tricky and time-consuming although nice to have instant results and the effect achieved is completely unique. The larger the block the less prints needed to cover the same area but the larger the block the more likely it is the ink prints unevenly. I made two linoblocks based on a seaside/ nautical theme to echo the shape of waves and printed directly on a dark blue fabric with light blue fabric ink.

However, I’m keen to develop digital editing skills so I scanned in the linoprints and edited them in photoshop. I could then take them into illustrator to develop patterns of various combinations and tiling layouts. I kept colours nautical (blue and white) and printed onto A3 paper. I used the paper while researching bookbinding to produce 2 books using the pattern – as a front and back cover and inside as end pages. One book was a perfect bind and the other was a simple sewn binding.

 

Ive loved every minute of this brief. Its given me a great understanding of the complexities of surface pattern design, but also helped me to know more about this side of graphic design. Its been really helpful to make new contacts, push myself to try new techniques (screen printing and bookbinding), as well as the editing and production side using photoshop and illustrator – using tutorials from ‘Digital Fashion Print with Photoshop and Illustrator’ by Kevin Tallon (2011, Batsford: London) . Ive also found it really useful to learn about generating product shots and had to think about camera, camera setting, lighting, any additional props and post processing in photoshop.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

