Embracing creativity:

I’m really enjoying finally having a chance to legitimately be creative – to be able to justify indulging myself in a lifelong awareness and appreciation of design and to actually get some ideas out my brain, try them out and (maybe) turn (some of) them into work is what I need. This mainly involves messy piles of random’Post its’, or my sketchbook/ diary for capturing those unlikely moments of inspiration and make sense of them later.

As an aside this has led me to reflect on the variety seen in people and what motivates them- what they’re passionate about. Personally, I am very aware of aesthetic and design. Always have been. I like arranging things and I like them to look nice. I can see that not everyone hold the same priorities and can accept that, but it makes me happy.

Add in a longstanding love for typography, paper crafts, posters, books, pattern and all things print and I ‘m happy that this (albeit finally) led me to graphic design.

Ive also realised I like to make things – liking to have a tangible object or product to show at the end of a days work is just satisfying. To say, maybe quite naively,”Look – what I made”. I realise that this isn’t everyones outlook on life, but I think its important to understand myself and why it motivates me to do graphic design and be good at it.

Simple really. But I can’t put it better than Saul Bass

” I want everything we do to be beautiful. I don’t give a damn whether the client understands that that’s worth anything, or that the client thinks it’s worth anything, or whether it is worth anything. It’s worth it to me. It’s the way I want to live my life. I want to make beautiful things, even if nobody cares.”. 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

